Joan Davison Receives Cornell Distinguished Faculty Award

May 04, 2011

Professor of Political Science Joan DavisonProfessor of Political Science Joan Davison is this year’s recipient of the Cornell Distinguished Faculty Award.

Established by the Board of Trustees of Rollins College in 2004, the Cornell Distinguished Faculty Award honors Rollins’ beloved alumnus and longtime trustee George Cornell, whose generous bequest made the award possible. Each year, the award recognizes exceptional professional accomplishments in at least two of the three primary areas of professional responsibility including teaching, research or service. Cornell Distinguished Faculty hold the title for three years.

“I am humbled by this award both because senior faculty colleagues of distinction selected me and because the award reflects the lasting commitment of the Cornells to the faculty and the liberal arts at Rollins,” said Davison. “I also understand and appreciate that the award carries with it a trust to use the resources associated with the appointment to further my research and to integrate that scholarly knowledge into my courses for the benefit of Rollins’ students. Specifically, I intend to extend my research on the emotional component of political ideologies, particularly as expressed in religious nationalism in post-conflict Bosnia.”

Davison has been teaching at Rollins for nearly twenty-five years and has an impressive record of excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. She consistently receives positive evaluations, despite evaluations that remark on her demanding classes and her firmness.

“In spite of being known as demanding, her courses are also in high demand,” said Interim Dean of the Faculty and Associate Professor of Education Debra Wellman. “Students perceive her as having great knowledge of her discipline, and praise the highly effective organization of her classes and her caring demeanor. She has also provided long-term service to the Rollins and Winter Park communities by being actively involved with the Catholic Campus Ministry since 1985 and by holding numerous leadership positions at Rollins, including serving as the NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative since 1998, chairing the Sunshine State Conference Faculty Committee for six years and directing and expanding the international relations program from 2002–07. Additionally, she has conducted original on-the-ground field research on the ethno-religious conflict in Bosnia and Herzegovina.”

This year’s Cornell Distinguished Faculty Award selection committee included George D. and Harriet W. Cornell Professor of Religion Yudit Greenberg (chair), John M. Tiedtke Professor of Music John Sinclair, Rapetti-Trunzo Professor of History Claire Strom, Associate Professor of Computer Science Dick James and Professor of Economics Ken Taylor.

Contributed by Janette Smith, administrative/research assistant to the dean of the faculty

Office of Public Relations & Community Affairs
For more information, contact

News Archives:

Submit News

We need your help to tell the Rollins story! Submit news items for the Rollins News Center and R-Net.

Greater Connections | Feedback About this Site | Jobs | Support Rollins
Copyright ©2012 Rollins College, 1000 Holt Ave., Winter Park, FL 32789  407.646.2000